RSS

One Realm Beyond

17 Feb

onerealmbeyondcover-2Returning to the CSFF Blog Tour after a few months’ absence, I forgot that 1) having a book in the stack doesn’t mean one can take one’s sweet time before reading it, and 2) one might want to finish the book before the tour begins.

So, here I am, still reading.

The book is One Realm Beyond, first in the Realm Walkers series by Donita K. Paul. (If you’re looking for books that young folks and adults alike will enjoy, read her stuff.)

I’m gonna try to cram in a long reading session before tomorrow, but can confidently say that my favorite characters are the shape-shifting dragons.

Tom is a dog (sometimes), and Nahzy can become an owl. Bridger is a haystack or a horse, depending on the moment. He also has a pet cat, but that’s a matter of debate. After all, neither owns the other, but travel together by choice.

A newly-initiated realm walker, Cantor needs to find a dragon, his constant who will accompany him throughout his life and adventures. Problem is, Bridger doesn’t fit the image Cantor has of how a proper dragon should be. His dragon would never disguise himself as a haystack or prop his chin on Cantor’s head.

But Cantor meets people, too, whose ways and laws are different from those of his realm. In Effram, he must beware the King’s Guard. He’s not the only one–

But that’s telling. (wink and a smile)

More tomorrow. Meantime, interested in more in-depth reviews of One Realm Beyond? Visit these stops on the tour and read what others are saying:

Julie Bihn
Beckie Burnham
Mike Coville
Pauline Creeden
Vicky DealSharingAunt
Carol Gehringer
Rebekah Gyger
Janeen Ippolito
Jason Joyner
Carol Keen
Krystine Kercher
Emileigh Latham
Jennette Mbewe
Shannon McDermott
Meagan @ Blooming with Books
Melanie @ Christian Bookshelf Reviews
Rebecca LuElla Miller
Joan Nienhuis
Nissa
Donita K. Paul
Audrey Sauble
Chawna Schroeder
James Somers
Jojo Sutis
Jessica Thomas
Steve Trower
Shane Werlinger
Jill Williamson
Deborah Wilson

And now for the legal language: In conjunction with the CSFF Blog Tour, I received a free copy of this book from the publisher. (Do folks even care how one received a copy of the book, as long as the review is honest?)

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “One Realm Beyond

  1. Donita K. Paul

    February 17, 2014 at 6:25 pm

    You made me laugh, Keanan. Thank you for a good start on the tour!

     
  2. worthy2read

    February 17, 2014 at 6:56 pm

    Keep reading — you are in for a treat!

     
  3. Terri

    February 18, 2014 at 12:38 am

    Sure is funny, I sometimes have the same problem–having books in my stack doesn’t mean I have time to read them! I look forward to getting my hands on this one from Ms. Paul!

     
  4. jwilliamsonwrites

    February 19, 2014 at 12:28 am

    I loved the dragons too! I love that Bridger made himself into a haystack and a stretcher. And I love that he has a cat.

     
  5. Jessica E. Thomas

    February 19, 2014 at 1:51 am

    I was surprised by the length of the novel. I thought it was long for YA, but I guess, that college YA writing class I took was about 20 years ago and we’ve had Harry Potter since then.

     
  6. a_paul

    February 19, 2014 at 9:16 pm

    I was surprised that Bridger didn’t have a pet rabbit to be honest 🙂 I can’t wait for the rest of the series

     

Leave a Reply

 
